Comprehensive database of academic
journals for scholarly research that includes articles
from 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and reference sources, the majority of which
is in full-text. Covers the disciplines of science, technology, medicine,
social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. and includes Podcasts and
transcripts from National Public Radio (NPR), Cable News Network (CNN), and the
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for
more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of
academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Collegiate DISCUS Academic
Library Portal For South Carolina
Collegiate DISCUS extends the
DISCUS model to increasingly specialized academic resources. Collegiate
DISCUS is coordinated by PASCAL, in cooperation with its members, the South
Carolina State Library, and other partners. Collegiate DISCUS is funded by the
South Carolina General Assembly through an education lottery appropriation to
the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education.
Provides access to over 450 databases of authoritative business, scientific,
intellectual property, and technical publications. For a complete list of the
databases available through Dialog, check the
Dialog Bluesheets webpage.
You can browse the list of databases alphabetically by database name as well as
by subject, but you must contact a librarian to access and search in the
DISCUS is South Carolina's Virtual Library which gives all South
Carolinians free online access
to the best subscription library resources including magazine and newspaper
articles, reference material, maps, pictures, etc. DISCUS is coordinated
by the South Carolina State Library
in cooperation with schools, colleges and public libraries. DISCUS is funded by
the South Carolina General
Assembly through the K-12 Technology Initiative, with supplemental funding
by the federal Library Services & Technology Act.
Dissertations and Theses Full-text (ProQuest)
Dissertations and Theses Full-text from ProQuest
is the full-text version of Dissertation Abstracts database,
the authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and
master's theses. The database contains more than 2 million total entries in
which more than 600,000 are available in PDF formats for immediate free
download. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word
abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward
include 150-word abstracts.
Ebrary Academic Complete E-book
Ebrary Academic Complete includes electronic books in the following subject areas: business/economics, computers/IT, education,
engineering/technology, history/political science, humanities,
interdisciplinary/area studies, language/literature/linguistics,
law/international relations/public policy, life sciences, medical,
nursing/allied health, physical sciences, psychology/social work,
religion/philosophy, and sociology/anthropology.
Comprehensive periodical database of full-text articles from over 2000
scholarly, refereed, and professional journals and selected general interest
magazines covering all academic disciplines. Also provides indexing of
additional professional and general periodicals.
Provides easy access to a variety of databases and indexes in the Arts and
Humanities, Business and Economics, Conferences and Proceedings, Consumer
Affairs and People, Education, Engineering and Technology, General and
Reference, General Science, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, News
and Current Events, Public Affairs and Law, and Social Sciences. You must
contact a librarian to access FirstSearch.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A selection of 24 reference e-book titles covering a variety of subject
areas including health and medicine, language and literature, history, social
studies, science, etc.
Comprehensive periodical database that merges nearly all the InfoTrac
collections into a single database. The database contains over 25 million
full-text articles on numerous subjects from over 5000 general, professional,
and scholarly periodical titles.
Provides full-text articles from over 900 general magazines, newspapers,
encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference materials covering a variety of
Contains full-text articles from over 130 magazines, newspapers, and reference
sources on various topics often researched by middle school students. The
database also includes maps, short stories, poems, quizzes, experiments,
activities, and a toolbox to help students learn to conduct research and improve
Contains over 3 million full-text articles from
over 400 periodical titles, reference information, maps, and historical images
on topics most often researched in high schools.
Use this database to find information in African American studies, African
studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature,
mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.
Provides full-text magazine and newspaper articles, pictures, and reference
information on a variety of subjects for K-5 students. Articles in the
database are assigned reading levels to assist students in finding easy to
understanding information. The database also includes activities,
experiments, and literature written by children.
Academic Universe provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and
MAS Ultra School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full
text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications
with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines. Also provides
more than 500 full text pamphlets, more than 350 full text reference books,
84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of
192,999 photos, maps and flags.
Contains all the indexing, abstracting, and full text that is contained in
the following six Wilson databases: Education Full Text, General Science
Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full
Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
OmniFile also contains complete
indexing, abstracting, and full text from all of the journals in the five
following databases to which Wilson has full text rights: Applied Science
& Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus,
Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information
Science Full Text. Indexing and abstracting is present for all articles
from those journals without regard to whether or not Wilson has the full text
for that particular article.
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to
promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy. Contains more
than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles as well as podcasts, reviewed Web
links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs.
Provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school
research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading
level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
ProQuest Research Library
A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper
articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law,
military, science, psychology, social science, women's interest, etc.
Contains full-text magazine and newspaper articles, pictures, reference
information, and web sites on a variety of subjects. All sources included
are age appropriate for students in grades 1-9 and are assigned reading levels
to assist students in finding easy to understand information.
SIRS Knowledge Source
Contains magazine and newspaper articles, government publications, reference
sources, images, maps, country profiles, and web sites on a variety of subjects.
Also includes Supreme Court decisions, a interactive textbook on citizenship,
and special features on literature, terrorism, and other topics.
Springer E-book Collection
An electronic book collection from Springer that contains e-books in architecture and design, behavioral science, biomedical and
life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer
science, engineering, humanities and social sciences, law, medicine, etc.