About the Library
Archives
Departments and Services
Electronic Resources
Government Documents
Library Hours
Library Instruction
Online Catalog
Online Reference
Other Libraries
PASCAL Delivers
Search Assistance
SC State Homepage
University 101

 

Biography Databases

Academic OneFile Discus Logo
Comprehensive database of academic journals for scholarly research that includes articles from 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and reference sources, the majority of which is in full-text.  Covers the disciplines of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. and includes Podcasts and transcripts from National Public Radio (NPR), Cable News Network (CNN), and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).

Academic Search Premier Pascal Logo
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

Biography in ContextDiscus Logo
Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.  

Expanded Academic ASAP Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly, refereed, and professional journals and selected general interest magazines covering all academic disciplines.  Also provides indexing of additional professional and general periodicals.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Discus Logo
A selection of 24 reference e-book titles covering a variety of subject areas including health and medicine, language and literature, history, social studies, science, etc.

General OneFile Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database that merges nearly all the InfoTrac collections into a single database.  The database contains over 25 million full-text articles on numerous subjects from over 5000 general, professional, and scholarly periodical titles.

ProQuest Research Library
A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, military, science, psychology, social science, women's interest, etc.