About the Library
Archives
Departments and Services
Electronic Resources
Government Documents
Library Hours
Library Instruction
Online Catalog
Online Reference
Other Libraries
PASCAL Delivers
Search Assistance
SC State Homepage
University 101

 

Dictionary and Encyclopedia Databases

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition Discus Logo
EB Online includes the complete encyclopedia as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Public Library Edition Discus Logo
Access to two homepages: Britannica Kids for children and young adults, and Britannica Reference Center for older students and adults.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition Discus Logo
Access to encyclopedia and related content on three levels: elementary, middle and high school, as well as teacher resources
.

Enciclopedia Juvenil Discus Logo
Elementary Spanish encyclopedia for early readers of Spanish.  Provides interactive materials supporting language arts, math, science and social studies.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Pascal Logo
Contains full text articles on an array of subjects, images, and brief biographies.

General Reference Center Discus Logo
Provides full-text articles from over 900 general magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference materials covering a variety of topics.

Merriam-Webster Dictionary Discus Logo
Complete Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus.

World Data Analyst Discus Logo
Resource for retrieving, comparing and customizing data on the world’s nations.  Provides Country Snapshots which include statistics maps, area, population, demographics, gross national product and more.  Also provides a Country Comparisons section which offers tools for creating comparison tables and graphs using either recent or historical statistics as well as a Ranked Statistics section which performs country rankings for chosen statistical categories.  Results are exportable to spreadsheet applications.