About the Library
Archives
Departments and Services
Electronic Resources
Government Documents
Library Hours
Library Instruction
Online Catalog
Online Reference
Other Libraries
PASCAL Delivers
Search Assistance
SC State Homepage
University 101

 

Food and Nutrition Databases

Academic OneFile Discus Logo
Comprehensive database of academic journals for scholarly research that includes articles from 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and reference sources, the majority of which is in full-text.  Covers the disciplines of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. and includes Podcasts and transcripts from National Public Radio (NPR), Cable News Network (CNN), and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).

Academic Search Premier Pascal Logo
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

CINAHL Plus with  Full-Text (Nursing & Allied Health) Pascal Logo
Provides full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL and is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.  The database also provides full-text for more than 220 books/monographs.

Dissertations and Theses Full-text (ProQuest)
Dissertations and Theses Full-text from ProQuest is the full-text version of Dissertation Abstracts database, the authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database contains more than 2 million total entries in which more than 600,000 are available in PDF formats for immediate free download.  Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Expanded Academic ASAP Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly, refereed, and professional journals and selected general interest magazines covering all academic disciplines.  Also provides indexing of additional professional and general periodicals.

FirstSearch 
Provides easy access to a variety of databases and indexes in the Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Conferences and Proceedings, Consumer Affairs and People, Education, Engineering and Technology, General and Reference, General Science, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, News and Current Events, Public Affairs and Law, and Social Sciences. You must contact a librarian to access FirstSearch. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library Discus Logo
A selection of 24 reference e-book titles covering a variety of subject areas including health and medicine, language and literature, history, social studies, science, etc.

General OneFile Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database that merges nearly all the InfoTrac collections into a single database.  The database contains over 25 million full-text articles on numerous subjects from over 5000 general, professional, and scholarly periodical titles.

General Reference Center Discus Logo
Provides full-text articles from over 900 general magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference materials covering a variety of topics.

Health and Wellness Resource Center  Discus Logo
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. from 1997 on.  Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. 

Health Reference Center Academic  Discus Logo
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. from 1980 on.  The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Health Source: Consumer Edition Pascal Logo
Provides consumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Pascal Logo
Provides scholarly full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals, abstracts, and indexing. Focuses on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.

JSTOR
Use this database to find information in African American studies, African studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.

Pascal Logo

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.  Allows users to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.  Created by the National Library of Medicine.

OmniFile
Contains all the indexing, abstracting, and full text that is contained in the following six Wilson databases:  Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. 
OmniFile also contains complete indexing, abstracting, and full text from all of the journals in the five following databases to which Wilson has full text rights:  Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.  Indexing and abstracting is present for all articles from those journals without regard to whether or not Wilson has the full text for that particular article.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Discus Logo
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy.  Contains more than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles as well as podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs.

ProQuest Research Library
A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, military, science, psychology, social science, women's interest, etc. 

PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service with access to citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals) and other related databases.