Comprehensive database of academic
journals for scholarly research that includes articles
from 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and reference sources, the majority of which
is in full-text. Covers the disciplines of science, technology, medicine,
social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. and includes Podcasts and
transcripts from National Public Radio (NPR), Cable News Network (CNN), and the
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for
more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of
academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
African American Newspapers
Online full-text of Parts I - IV
of the African American Newspapers: The 19th Century collection form Accessible
Archives, originally on CD-ROM. Includes the
1837-1841; The Christian Recorder, 1861-1864; Frederick Douglass
Papers (continuation of The North Star), 1851-1854;
Freedom's Journal, 1827-1829; National Era, 1847-1855; The North
Star, 1847-1851; and Provincial Freeman,1854-1857.
For a detailed description of this collection, click
on About the
Black Studies Center
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly
essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It
combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies:
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience,
International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP),
The Chicago Defender, and the
Black Literature Index.
Black Thought and Culture
Contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors,
covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.
Dissertations and Theses Full-text (ProQuest)
Dissertations and Theses Full-text from ProQuest
is the full-text version of Dissertation Abstracts database,
the authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and
master's theses. The database contains more than 2 million total entries in
which more than 600,000 are available in PDF formats for immediate free
download. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word
abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward
include 150-word abstracts.
Comprehensive periodical database of full-text articles from over 2000
scholarly, refereed, and professional journals and selected general interest
magazines covering all academic disciplines. Also provides indexing of
additional professional and general periodicals.
Provides easy access to a variety of databases and indexes in the Arts and
Humanities, Business and Economics, Conferences and Proceedings, Consumer
Affairs and People, Education, Engineering and Technology, General and
Reference, General Science, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, News
and Current Events, Public Affairs and Law, and Social Sciences. You must
contact a librarian to access FirstSearch.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A selection of 24 reference e-book titles covering a variety of subject
areas including health and medicine, language and literature, history, social
studies, science, etc.
Comprehensive periodical database that merges nearly all the InfoTrac
collections into a single database. The database contains over 25 million
full-text articles on numerous subjects from over 5000 general, professional,
and scholarly periodical titles.
Provides full-text articles from over 900 general magazines, newspapers,
encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference materials covering a variety of
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective
Cites articles from periodicals in the fields of archaeology and classical
studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history, journalism
and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism,
music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. Date coverage
Use this database to find information in African American studies, African
studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature,
mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.
Contains all the indexing, abstracting, and full text that is contained in
the following six Wilson databases: Education Full Text, General Science
Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full
Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
OmniFile also contains complete
indexing, abstracting, and full text from all of the journals in the five
following databases to which Wilson has full text rights: Applied Science
& Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus,
Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information
Science Full Text. Indexing and abstracting is present for all articles
from those journals without regard to whether or not Wilson has the full text
for that particular article.
Oxford African American Studies
A collection reference works with sophisticated technology to create the
most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on
the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history
ProQuest Research Library
A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper
articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law,
military, science, psychology, social science, women's interest, etc.
Provides a complete overview of the
most-studied events, issues and current information in U.S. history that have
been selected as relevant in the undergraduate curriculum. Includes original
materials from Primary Source Microfilm’s digital archives, including documents,
monographs, pamphlets, first-person accounts, encyclopedic and critical
articles, essays and biographies, full-text periodicals and scholarly history
journals, historical bibliographies, links to digitized special collections,
audio and video clips of historic speeches and events, multimedia maps and
images, country and era overviews, chronological timelines.
World Data Analyst
maps, area, population, demographics, gross national product and more.
Also provides a Country Comparisons section
which offers tools for creating comparison tables and graphs using either recent
or historical statistics as well as a Ranked
Statistics section which performs country rankings for chosen statistical
categories. Results are exportable to spreadsheet applications.
World History in Context
Collection of resources providing coverage of events, themes and trends in world
history from antiquity to the present, with a multicultural and global view.
Contains more than 1,500 primary sources from Primary Source Microfilm,
full-text articles from more than 110 academic journal, and more than ,600
historical maps and atlases.