About the Library
Archives
Departments and Services
Electronic Resources
Government Documents
Library Hours
Library Instruction
Online Catalog
Online Reference
Other Libraries
PASCAL Delivers
Search Assistance
SC State Homepage
University 101

 

K-12 (Juvenile) Databases

InfoTrac Junior Edition Discus Logo
Contains full-text articles from over 130 magazines, newspapers, and reference sources on various topics often researched by middle school students.  The database also includes maps, short stories, poems, quizzes, experiments, activities, and a toolbox to help students learn to conduct research and improve writing skills.

InfoTrac Student Edition Discus Logo
Contains over 3 million full-text articles from over 400 periodical titles, reference information, maps, and historical images on topics most often researched in high schools.

Kids InfoBits Discus Logo
Provides full-text magazine and newspaper articles, pictures, and reference information on a variety of subjects for K-5 students.  Articles in the database are assigned reading levels to assist students in finding easy to understanding information.  The database also includes activities, experiments, and literature written by children.

MAS Ultra School Edition Pascal Logo
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines. Also provides more than 500 full text pamphlets, more than 350 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags.

Primary Search Pascal Logo
Provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

SIRS Discoverer Discus Logo
Contains full-text magazine and newspaper articles, pictures, reference information, and web sites on a variety of subjects.  All sources included are age appropriate for students in grades 1-9 and are assigned reading levels to assist students in finding easy to understand information.

SIRS Knowledge Source Discus Logo
Contains magazine and newspaper articles, government publications, reference sources, images, maps, country profiles, and web sites on a variety of subjects.  Also includes Supreme Court decisions, a interactive textbook on citizenship, and special features on literature, terrorism, and other topics.