About the Library
Archives
Departments and Services
Electronic Resources
Government Documents
Library Hours
Library Instruction
Online Catalog
Online Reference
Other Libraries
PASCAL Delivers
Search Assistance
SC State Homepage
University 101

 

Newspaper Databases

Academic OneFile Discus Logo
Comprehensive database of academic journals for scholarly research that includes articles from 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and reference sources, the majority of which is in full-text.  Covers the disciplines of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. and includes Podcasts and transcripts from National Public Radio (NPR), Cable News Network (CNN), and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).

Academic Search Premier Pascal Logo
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

African American Newspapers
Online full-text of Parts I - IV of the African American Newspapers: The 19th Century collection form Accessible Archives, originally on CD-ROM.  Includes the
Colored American, 1837-1841; The Christian Recorder, 1861-1864; Frederick Douglass Papers (continuation of The North Star), 1851-1854; Freedom's Journal, 1827-1829; National Era, 1847-1855; The North Star, 1847-1851; and Provincial Freeman,1854-1857.  For a detailed description of this collection, click on About the Archives.

Chicago Defender
Black Studies Center database provides the full text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.

Chronicle of Higher Education
Full-text online access to the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Custom Newspapers Discus Logo
Use this newspaper database to find full-text articles from the New York Times (latest 90 days, and the Post & Courier.

Expanded Academic ASAP Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly, refereed, and professional journals and selected general interest magazines covering all academic disciplines.  Also provides indexing of additional professional and general periodicals.

FirstSearch 
Provides easy access to a variety of databases and indexes in the Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Conferences and Proceedings, Consumer Affairs and People, Education, Engineering and Technology, General and Reference, General Science, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, News and Current Events, Public Affairs and Law, and Social Sciences. You must contact a librarian to access FirstSearch. 

General OneFile Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database that merges nearly all the InfoTrac collections into a single database.  The database contains over 25 million full-text articles on numerous subjects from over 5000 general, professional, and scholarly periodical titles.

General Reference Center Discus Logo
Provides full-text articles from over 900 general magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference materials covering a variety of topics.

Lexis-Nexis 
Academic Universe provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

OmniFile
Contains all the indexing, abstracting, and full text that is contained in the following six Wilson databases:  Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. 
OmniFile also contains complete indexing, abstracting, and full text from all of the journals in the five following databases to which Wilson has full text rights:  Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.  Indexing and abstracting is present for all articles from those journals without regard to whether or not Wilson has the full text for that particular article.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Discus Logo
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy.  Contains more than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles as well as podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs.

ProQuest Research Library
A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, military, science, psychology, social science, women's interest, etc. 

Regional Business News Pascal Logo
Contains business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

The State
The State newspaper is the largest newspaper serving the state of South Carolina. 

The Times and Democrat
The Times and Democrat newspaper is published in Orangeburg, SC, and serves Orangeburg and Calhoun Counties.