About the Library
Archives
Departments and Services
Electronic Resources
Government Documents
Library Hours
Library Instruction
Online Catalog
Online Reference
Other Libraries
PASCAL Delivers
Search Assistance
SC State Homepage
University 101

 

Political Science Databases

Academic OneFile Discus Logo
Comprehensive database of academic journals for scholarly research that includes a
rticles from 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and reference sources, the majority of which is in full-text.  Covers the disciplines of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. and includes Podcasts and transcripts from National Public Radio (NPR), Cable News Network (CNN), and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).

Academic Search Premier Pascal Logo
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.  Contains numerous photos of political figures and events.

CQ Press Congress Collection
Research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress. 

CQ Press Supreme Court Collection
Blends historical analysis with timely updates and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.

CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection
Integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.

CultureGrams Discus Logo
Country reports that provide snapshots of the world’s cultures.

Dissertations and Theses Full-text (ProQuest)
Dissertations and Theses Full-text from ProQuest is the full-text version of Dissertation Abstracts database, the authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database contains more than 2 million total entries in which more than 600,000 are available in PDF formats for immediate free download.  Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Expanded Academic ASAP Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly, refereed, and professional journals and selected general interest magazines covering all academic disciplines.  Also provides indexing of additional professional and general periodicals.

FirstSearch 
Provides easy access to a variety of databases and indexes in the Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Conferences and Proceedings, Consumer Affairs and People, Education, Engineering and Technology, General and Reference, General Science, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, News and Current Events, Public Affairs and Law, and Social Sciences.
You must contact a librarian to access FirstSearch. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library Discus Logo
A selection of 24 reference e-book titles covering a variety of subject areas including health and medicine, language and literature, history, social studies, science, etc.

General OneFile Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database that merges nearly all the InfoTrac collections into a single database.  The database contains over 25 million full-text articles on numerous subjects from over 5000 general, professional, and scholarly periodical titles.

General Reference Center Discus Logo
Provides full-text articles from over 900 general magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference materials covering a variety of topics.

GPO Access
Contains published government documents on subjects including finance, business, demographics, agriculture, medicine, and public health. 

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective
Cites articles from periodicals in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. Date coverage includes 1907-1984.

JSTOR
Use this database to find information in African American studies, African studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.

Lexis-Nexis 
Academic Universe provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

OmniFile
Contains all the indexing, abstracting, and full text that is contained in the following six Wilson databases:  Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. 
OmniFile also contains complete indexing, abstracting, and full text from all of the journals in the five following databases to which Wilson has full text rights:  Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.  Indexing and abstracting is present for all articles from those journals without regard to whether or not Wilson has the full text for that particular article.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Discus Logo
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy.  Contains more than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles as well as podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs.

ProQuest Research Library
A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, military, science, psychology, social science, women's interest, etc.

World Data Analyst Discus Logo
Resource for retrieving, comparing and customizing data on the world’s nations.  Provides Country Snapshots which include statistics maps, area, population, demographics, gross national product and more.  Also provides a Country Comparisons section which offers tools for creating comparison tables and graphs using either recent or historical statistics as well as a Ranked Statistics section which performs country rankings for chosen statistical categories.  Results are exportable to spreadsheet applications.