About the Library
Archives
Departments and Services
Electronic Resources
Government Documents
Library Hours
Library Instruction
Online Catalog
Online Reference
Other Libraries
PASCAL Delivers
Search Assistance
SC State Homepage
University 101

 

Databases By Title

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U V

W

X Y Z


A

Academic OneFile
Discus Logo
Comprehensive database of academic journals for scholarly research that includes a
rticles from 8,000+ peer-reviewed journals and reference sources, the majority of which is in full-text.  Covers the disciplines of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. and includes Podcasts and transcripts from National Public Radio (NPR), Cable News Network (CNN), and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).

Academic Search Premier Pascal Logo
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

ACM Digital Library
A collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.

African American Music Reference
Contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

African American Newspapers
Online full-text of Parts I - IV of the African American Newspapers: The 19th Century collection form Accessible Archives, originally on CD-ROM.  Includes the Colored American, 1837-1841; The Christian Recorder, 1861-1864; Frederick Douglass Papers (continuation of The North Star), 1851-1854; Freedom's Journal, 1827-1829; National Era, 1847-1855; The North Star, 1847-1851; and Provincial Freeman,1854-1857.  For a detailed description of this collection, click on About the Archives.

Agricola
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to agricultural information. The database covers materials in all formats and periods, including printed works from as far back as the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Although the NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) does not contain the text of the materials it cites, thousands of its records are linked to full-text documents online, with new links added daily.

Agris
AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. It was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture.  Subject scope of AGRIS includes all technical, economic and sociological aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition.

American Song
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.  The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
  Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song, including 17,000 tracks from the original interface, plus 18,000 newly released tracks.

ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.


B

Biography in Context 
Discus Logo
Comprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.  

Black Drama
Contains approximately 1310 plays by 210 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Black Short Fiction
Offers short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon.

Black Studies Center
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.

Black Thought and Culture
Contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.

Black Women Writers
Celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women’s struggles through time.

Book Review Index Online Plus Discus Logo
Comprehensive reference database for locating reviews of books, periodicals, books-on-tape and electronic media.

Books and Authors Discus Logo
Readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction that provides genre lists, plot summaries, author information, award lists, book jacket images, and book reviews.

Business & Company Resource Center Discus Logo
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Predicast's PROMT and Newsletter databases are fully integrated in this database. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Business Source Premier Pascal Logo
Contains 2,700 full text scholarly journals and periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, etc. as well as country economic reports and DataMonitor company profiles.


C


Cabell's Business, Education, and Psychology Directories Online
Online editions of Cabell's directories of publishing opportunities, which cover the following areas:

  • Accounting

  • Economics and Finance

  • Management

  • Marketing

  • Educational Curriculum and Methods

  • Educational Psychology and Administration

  • Educational Technology and Library Science

  • Psychology and Psychiatry

Career E-book Collection Discus Logo
Customized collection of electronic books for vocational needs from NetLibrary.

Caribbean Literature
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected by our editors are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.

Chronicle of Higher Education Pascal Logo
Full-text online access to the Chronicle of Higher Education.

CINAHL Plus with  Full-Text (Nursing & Allied Health) Pascal Logo
Provides full text for more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL and is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.  The database also provides full-text for more than 220 books/monographs.

Collegiate DISCUS Academic Library Portal For South Carolina Pascal Logo
Collegiate DISCUS  extends  the DISCUS model to increasingly specialized academic resources.  Collegiate DISCUS is coordinated by PASCAL, in cooperation with its members, the South Carolina State Library, and other partners. Collegiate DISCUS is funded by the South Carolina General Assembly through an education lottery appropriation to the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education.

Computer Source Pascal Logo
Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Offers full text, abstracts, and citations of articles covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.

CQ Congress Collection
Research and reference tool for analyzing the history and development, legislation, powers, and personalities of the U.S. Congress. 

CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. 

CQ Supreme Court Collection
Blends historical analysis with timely updates and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.

CultureGrams Discus Logo
Country reports that provide snapshots of the world’s cultures.

Custom Newspapers Discus Logo
Use this newspaper database to find full-text articles from the New York Times (latest 90 days, and the Post & Courier.


D

Dialog
Provides access to over 450 databases of authoritative business, scientific, intellectual property, and technical publications. For a complete list of the databases available through Dialog, check the Dialog Bluesheets webpage.  You can browse the list of databases alphabetically by database name as well as by subject, but
you must contact a librarian to access and search in the Dialog databases.

DISCUS Databases Discus Logo
DISCUS is South Carolina's Virtual Library which
gives all South Carolinians free online access to the best subscription library resources including magazine and newspaper articles, reference material, maps, pictures, etc.  DISCUS is coordinated by the South Carolina State Library in cooperation with schools, colleges and public libraries. DISCUS is funded by the South Carolina General Assembly through the K-12 Technology Initiative, with supplemental funding by the federal Library Services & Technology Act.

Dissertations and Theses Completed at SCSU, 1950-2000

Dissertations and Theses Completed at SCSU, 2001 -2005

Dissertations and Theses Full-text (ProQuest)
Dissertations and Theses Full-text from ProQuest is the full-text version of Dissertation Abstracts database, the authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database contains more than 2 million total entries in which more than 600,000 are available in PDF formats for immediate free download.  Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. 


E

Ebrary Academic Library Complete E-book Collection Pascal Logo
Ebrary Academic Complete includes electronic books in the following subject areas:  business/economics, computers/IT, education, engineering/technology, history/political science, humanities, interdisciplinary/area studies, language/literature/linguistics, law/international relations/public policy, life sciences, medical, nursing/allied health, physical sciences, psychology/social work, religion/philosophy, and sociology/anthropology.

Educator's Reference Complete Discus Logo
Database of education resources covering multiple levels from preschool to college.  Provides more than 1,100 full-text periodicals covering a variety of disciplines and 200 reports from the U.S. Department of Education.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition Discus Logo
EB Online includes the complete encyclopedia as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online Public Library Edition Discus Logo
Access to two homepages: Britannica Kids for children and young adults, and Britannica Reference Center for older students and adults.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition Discus Logo
Access to encyclopedia and related content on three levels: elementary, middle and high school, as well as teacher resources
.

Enciclopedia Juvenil Discus Logo
Elementary Spanish encyclopedia for early readers of Spanish.  Provides interactive materials supporting language arts, math, science and social studies.

ERIC Pascal Logo
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center), is an information system sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that generates the U.S. national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. The database consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 750 professional journals. In addition, ERIC now contains over 850 ERIC Digest records that feature the full text of the original document. 

ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. ERIC provides a public Web site for searching nearly 1.2 million citations going back to 1966 and, with contributor permission, accessing more than 110,000 full-text materials at no charge. ERIC is moving forward with its modernization program, incorporating new technologies to facilitate the addition of materials and help users identify, evaluate, and obtain education-related research and other materials.

Expanded Academic ASAP Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database of full-text articles from over 2000 scholarly, refereed, and professional journals and selected general interest magazines covering all academic disciplines.  Also provides indexing of additional professional and general periodicals.


F

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center Discus Logo
Provides information on more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, organized by the 16 career clusters created by the U.S. Department of Education.  Contains sample resumes and cover letters as well as advice on job applications, the interview process, professional behavior, and building career skills.

FirstSearch
Provides easy access to a variety of databases and indexes in the Arts and Humanities, Business and Economics, Conferences and Proceedings, Consumer Affairs and People, Education, Engineering and Technology, General and Reference, General Science, Life Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences, News and Current Events, Public Affairs and Law, and Social Sciences. You must contact a librarian to access FirstSearch.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Pascal Logo
Contains full text articles on an array of subjects, images, and brief biographies.


G

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Discus Logo
A selection of 24 reference e-book titles covering a variety of subject areas including health and medicine, language and literature, history, social studies, science, etc.

General BusinessFile ASAP  Discus Logo
Use this database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 150,000 companies as well as information on Finance, Trade, New Technologies, Trends and more.

General OneFile
Discus Logo
Comprehensive periodical database that merges nearly all the InfoTrac collections into a single database.  The database contains over 25 million full-text articles on numerous subjects from over 5000 general, professional, and scholarly periodical titles.

General Reference Center Discus Logo
Provides full-text articles from over 900 general magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference materials covering a variety of topics.

GPO 
Contains published government documents on subjects including finance, business, demographics, agriculture, medicine, and public health.


H

Health and Wellness Resource Center 
Discus Logo
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. from 1997 on.  Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. 

Health Reference Center Academic  
Discus Logo
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. from 1980 on.  The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.   

Health Source: Consumer Edition Pascal Logo
Provides consumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Pascal Logo
Provides scholarly full text journals, including peer-reviewed journals, abstracts, and indexing. Focuses on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Cites articles from periodicals in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore, general scholarship, history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology. Date coverage includes 1907-1984.


I

InfoTrac Junior Edition
Discus Logo
Contains full-text articles from over 130 magazines, newspapers, and reference sources on various topics often researched by middle school students.  The database also includes maps, short stories, poems, quizzes, experiments, activities, and a toolbox to help students learn to conduct research and improve writing skills.

InfoTrac Student Edition Discus Logo
Contains over 3 million full-text articles from over 400 periodical titles, reference information, maps, and historical images on topics most often researched in high schools.


J

JSTOR
Use this database to find information in African American studies, African studies, the arts, business, education, history, language and literature, mathematics, political science, and various other subjects.


K

Kids InfoBits
Discus Logo
Provides full-text magazine and newspaper articles, pictures, and reference information on a variety of subjects for K-5 students.  Articles in the database are assigned reading levels to assist students in finding easy to understanding information.  The database also includes activities, experiments, and literature written by children.


L
Learning Express Library Discus Logo
Provides a comprehensive collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and other career and life skills resources.

LegalTrac Discus Logo
Provides indexing to over 1,400 law and legal periodicals with selected full-text articles from over 100 titles.  Contains articles from major law reviews, bar association journals, and legal newspapers as well as law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles. Includes articles on federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice, and taxation.

Lexis-Nexis
Academic Universe provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information.

Literature Resources from Gale Discus Logo
Includes the content of Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne’s Author Series, and
LitFinder.  Contains literature criticism, biographies, topic and work overviews, reviews and news, primary
sources, literary works and multimedia.


M

MAS Ultra School Edition Pascal Logo
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines. Also provides more than 500 full text pamphlets, more than 350 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags.

Pascal Logo

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.  Allows users to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.  Created by the National Library of Medicine.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

Merriam-Webster Dictionary Discus Logo
Complete Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus.

Military & Government Collection Pascal Logo
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military. Provides full text, abstracts, and citations of articles in journals, periodicals, and pamphlets.

MLA Directory of Periodicals Pascal Logo
Contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. This information has been gathered by the MLA staff with the cooperation of MLA bibliographers and the editors represented in these listings. Over 7,100 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year as well as how many are submitted.

MLA International Bibliography Pascal Logo
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.  Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.


O

OmniFile
Contains all the indexing, abstracting, and full text that is contained in the following six Wilson databases:  Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. 
OmniFile also contains complete indexing, abstracting, and full text from all of the journals in the five following databases to which Wilson has full text rights:  Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.  Indexing and abstracting is present for all articles from those journals without regard to whether or not Wilson has the full text for that particular article.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Discus Logo
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy.  Contains more than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles as well as podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs.

Oxford African American Studies Center
A collection reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.


P

Primary Search
Pascal Logo
Provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

ProQuest Research Library
A collection of database modules that contain full-text journal and newspaper articles about art, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, military, science, psychology, social science, women's interest, etc. 

PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Pascal Logo
Provides access to full text publications, including peer-reviewed journals, that cover topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's search service with access to citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals) and other related databases.


R

Regional Business News
Pascal Logo
Contains business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


S

Science in Context
Discus Logo
Comprehensive curriculum-oriented database of reference and periodical content covering Life Science, Physical Science, Earth and Space Science.

Scribner Writers Series Discus Logo
Scribner Writer's Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series.

SIRS Discoverer Discus Logo
Contains full-text magazine and newspaper articles, pictures, reference information, and web sites on a variety of subjects.  All sources included are age appropriate for students in grades 1-9 and are assigned reading levels to assist students in finding easy to understand information.

SIRS Knowledge Source Discus Logo
Contains magazine and newspaper articles, government publications, reference sources, images, maps, country profiles, and web sites on a variety of subjects.  Also includes Supreme Court decisions, a interactive textbook on citizenship, and special features on literature, terrorism, and other topics.

Small Business Resource Center Discus Logo
Resources for prospective and current entrepreneurs and business students.

Springer E-book Collection Pascal Logo
An electronic book collection from Springer that contains e-books in architecture and design, behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, engineering, humanities and social sciences, law, medicine, etc.

The State
The State newspaper is the largest newspaper serving the state of South Carolina. 


T

Tests in Print
Serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series.  Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska.

The Times and Democrat
The Times and Democrat newspaper is published in Orangeburg, SC, and serves Orangeburg and Calhoun Counties.


U

U.S. History in Context Discus Logo
Provides a complete overview of the most-studied events, issues and current information in U.S. history that have been selected as relevant in the undergraduate curriculum.  Includes original materials from Primary Source Microfilm’s digital archives, including documents, monographs, pamphlets, first-person accounts, encyclopedic and critical articles, essays and biographies, full-text periodicals and scholarly history journals, historical bibliographies, links to digitized special collections, audio and video clips of historic speeches and events, multimedia maps and images, country and era overviews, chronological timelines.
 

W

World Data Analyst Discus Logo
Resource for retrieving, comparing and customizing data on the world’s nations.  Provides Country Snapshots which include statistics maps, area, population, demographics, gross national product and more.  Also provides a Country Comparisons section which offers tools for creating comparison tables and graphs using either recent or historical statistics as well as a Ranked Statistics section which performs country rankings for chosen statistical categories.  Results are exportable to spreadsheet applications.

World History in Context Discus Logo
Collection of resources providing coverage of events, themes and trends in world history from antiquity to the present, with a multicultural and global view.  Contains more than 1,500 primary sources from Primary Source Microfilm, full-text articles from more than 110 academic journal, and more than ,600 historical maps and atlases.

If you encounter any problems accessing or searching the databases,
please contact the Reference Desk at 803-536-8640 or reference@scsu.edu.  If you a faculty, staff, or student who needs off-campus access to databases, please visit the Reference Desk to obtain the remote patron login information.