Area and Culture Studies

African American Music Reference
Contain 50,000 pages that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

African American Newspapers
Online full-text of Parts I - IV of the African American Newspapers: The 19th Century collection form Accessible Archives, originally on CD-ROM.  Includes the Colored American, 1837-1841; The Christian Recorder, 1861-1864; Frederick Douglass Papers (continuation of The North Star), 1851-1854; Freedom´s Journal, 1827-1829; National Era, 1847-1855; The North Star, 1847-1851; and Provincial Freeman,1854-1857.  For a detailed description of this collection, click on About the Archives.

American Song
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America´s past.  The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.  Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song, including 17,000 tracks from the original interface, plus 18,000 newly released tracks.

Black Drama
Contains approximately 1310 plays by 210 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Black Short Fiction
Offers short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon.

Black Studies Center
A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.    

Black Thought and Culture
Contains 1297 sources with 1100 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.

Caribbean Literature
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected by our editors are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.

CultureGrams Discus Logo
Country reports that provide snapshots of the world’s cultures.

European Views of the Americas: 1943 to 1750 Pascal Logo
Bibliographic database for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.

Fuente Academica Pascal Logo
Offers scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.

HBCU Digital Collections
A collection of primary resources from HBCU libraries and archives. It includes several thousand scanned pages of photographs, university correspondence, manuscripts, images of campus buildings, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events.

World Data Analyst Discus Logo
Resource for retrieving, comparing and customizing data on the world’s nations. Provides Country Snapshots which include statistics maps, area, population, demographics, gross national product and more. Also provides a Country Comparisons section which offers tools for creating comparison tables and graphs using either recent or historical statistics as well as a Ranked Statistics section which performs country rankings for chosen statistical categories. Results are exportable to spreadsheet applications.